Home » Daily Life » I Will Not Risk the Economy of My Country

I Will Not Risk the Economy of My Country

d80fbe25f190e2328fec8b44b715910b

And so it came to pass…

Another year in the life of my tiny little baby who magically turned 5 when I blinked. Each year I think,  time can’t possibly go any faster and yet, it does.

“Children age you.”

I always thought that meant physically,with the stress, worry lines and gray hairs, but that’s not it. It’s that time goes by right in front of you. A little living breathing calendar reminding you of each day that has past. I don’t like it, not one little bit. Soon it will be time for cars and crushes. Thankfully today, a dolly makes her giggle.

I started the Birthday shopping looking for clothes for my girls’ 12 inch baby dolls. But apparently 18 inch is all there is. Although… what they have for 18 inch dolls, make my heart flutter. You see, I was a little girl the first time the American Girl Doll catalog showed up in the mail. Oh how I dreamed, I mean really dreamed of owning Felicity. Felicity was a young girl from the colonial era and had her very own hunter green riding habit. She also had a Queen Anne table and chairs, A TEA SERVICE with a TEA CADDY! I did not know that such wonders existed. But alas, the cost was at least a month’s worth of groceries, maybe more.

 I knew she would never be mine.

images (1) F2940_main_1 SETFELICITY_D4371_main_1

Drooling over all the 18 inch doll clothes and accessories I began to think, maybe, just maybe, it’s time for my their very own American Girl Doll. The accessories would have to wait, my now 3 year old is far too much of a tornado for tiny tea cups, but dolls and clothes, she could handle. And so with anxious anticipation I typed in American Girl Dolls in my search bar. As I quickly clicked a link that looked promising, I saw a word, it flitted across my mind for a second, but I ignore it.  I’m on a mission to relive my childhood. They are expensive for sure, but something else is missing. Their stories are boring, Felicity lived through the Revolutionary War, Molly, WWII, but these new dolls lived through a gymnastics injury!? I mean sure Addie made it through slavery, that compares to the horrors of gymnastics, right?

And so I decided I would try and find my old Felicity and maybe her pioneer trekking friend, Kirsten. So once again with excitement I returned to my Google search and there was the word I had not allowed to sink in. MATTEL. This was no longer the quality made, history driven dolls of my little girls years. They were instead from the land of Barbie

Of course, everything good loses it’s flavor after a while, everything quality with meaning turns to corporatism. It is the country I call home and there isn’t much I can do about it, except…. NOT BUY AN AMERICAN GIRL DOLL. I use the spending and withholding of money as my voice. A tiny whisper in the ear deafening roar of screaming fans. Or followers.

I did a little research and it turns out there are several other companies who make dolls almost, if not as, comparable to the aforementioned doll company. They are still Chinese plastic, but at least they don’t pretend otherwise. Go ahead, try to find the word Mattel in the American Girl Doll website. I dare ya.

I read several reviewers and finally decided on Our Generation dolls. They are fairly well made, much cheaper in price and give a percentage to charity. They are not my beloved Felicity, but at least now for Christmas I can get, I mean I can give my girls this…

regency

and this…

celtic

oh yea and this…..

teadoll

and oh my heavens this…

51y9suSewVL._SL500_AA300_

Be still my heart, this..

b929478cc1737b9390d137da5ffbd78e

Look what I found on Ebay!

$_57

OK, I might give up my American Girl Doll boycott for this…

F1348_main_2F1326_main_1F1322_main_1

After all…Imma Murican, I have to contribute to some corporatism, otherwise the economy will fail. Right…. RIGHT?!
11 thoughts on “I Will Not Risk the Economy of My Country

  1. I love this post! I went through all of these emotions when getting my daughter her first AG Doll. When I found out the new ones were made in China, my jaw dropped. There just isn’t anything sacred (nor truly American) anymore!!! However I didn’t settle for the alternate doll makers, only because my daughter’s heart was set on Sage, who fits her horse and art loving personality to a tee. I of course prefer the historical dolls as well. The dolls came out on the exit of my doll loving childhood, so I never got a chance to even envy them as a little girl, but at 40 something, my heart pitter patters as much as my daughters (dare I say a little more even) every time the catalog comes in the mail. I’m all for supporting the economy! 😉

    • I liked dolls longer than most little girls. I mean, well, I still like dolls, obviously. But it really is sad, it was such an amazing company and now it’s just another over priced plastic doll maker. They do make some really adorable things, Sage for example I liked too. At least for now there is no chance of me spending $125 dollars on a doll bed, especially since if you search hard enough there are beautiful handmade dresses and furniture on Etsy. I’d much rather support an artist than Mattel.

      I don’t know what I’m going to do if they ask for Barbie. Another one I’m not interested in buying.

  2. Well, the economy of China might fail. They are building like crazy there. Our economy has gone to the dogs, while theirs is booming. Their middle-class is rising, ours is falling. We gave them our manufacturing. I’m just saying. I’m sure they are very nice people and needed the help to get the country on its feet and out of another era.

    I went shoe shopping for the first time in ten years last week. I had tons of shoes from when I was working an office job. Well, I couldn’t believe the prices for plastic shoes – 39.99, 49.99 up to 89.99 for plastic shoes. What the heck happened while I was wearing out my other shoes??

    • I know, my husband and I argue about free markets all the time. He thinks I don’t understand the economic principles behind it, I think he doesn’t get the lack of patriotism. I like to buy American. I like Etsy and Ebay, even though Ebay may still be selling me foreign made, if it’s used, the money is going in the pocket of an American citizen. Although I’m no fan of Ebay, it used to be an amazing idea and a way for the “little people” to sell among themselves. Now, it seems it’s mostly China cutting out the middle man.

      Shoes, lol. That one made me laugh. I am a believer in secondhand, but good condition shoes for kiddos is hard to find. It kills me to pay $30 for shoes that will be worn one season and are, yep, plastic. Not to mention most likely full of chemicals and well….the Chinese were among the first to discover we absorb a great deal through our feet.

  3. Just like buttons….simple buttons…most come from China…China practically owns us now and in a few years they may very well decide to call in those debts we owe them….then who will be master?

    • This is one of the reasons I tend to be an isolationist. I’m not saying we ignore the horrors of the world, but the new medicine WE created for Ebola went to West Africa and when someone in our country needed it, we didn’t have it! That is wrong!

      I remember when Sam Walton was all about America, I remember the giant sign on our local Walmart that said “Made In America”. Mr. Walton promised to sell American goods. He couldn’t keep that promise today.

      We are raising chickens and shipping them to China to be processed, only to be sent back to our country to be eaten by school children. Explain that to me, we have enough people “immigrating” to this country, we couldn’t find people willing to process chickens? My guess, it’s more about regulations on what and how it’s done as apposed to finding the employees. That actually makes me shiver. We raise our own, but that doesn’t mean it’s cheaper. We hope the extra land will give us the opportunity to grow our own feed making it more financially efficient.

      You say, who will be master? I’m pretty sure they already are.

      • This post and thread is music to my heart. My husband and I have been fighting Wal-Mart and supporting small business for over 10 years. Back then people thought we were nuts, I am so glad to see the movement growing.

        I myself lost my small mom and pop grocery store job that I loved (even though the pay was terrible). We knew our costumers and everyone in the neighborhood and took pride in our store. The owner purchased all meat, eggs, and produce locally from farmers. He couldn’t compete with big business. What makes me even more sad is the employees that work at these “big businesses” make the same as I did.

  4. There have been wars fought over unpaid loans. It is hard to understand why our government would borrow money from China instead of living on what it earns. Many people were living outside their means and took out loans for houses they couldn’t afford. Why would the government do the same thing. I don’t get it.

    • Well, not to be a doomsdayer, but realistically we are living on borrowed time. Just like all those people who bought homes well above their pay. Those loans will be called in and I try not to think about what that will mean. Instead I will get more land and teach myself the art of self sufficiency. What else can be done? If I didn’t have children, I probably wouldn’t bother, but I think about that scenario all the time. Land will be the only thing of value should that nightmare take place.

      Ya know this was meant to be a silly post, but the side notes are hard to ignore. I’m grateful my readers think beyond the obvious.

Share Your Thoughts...

