Home » Opinions & Experiences » She Wants Equality, The Church Wants Her Back in the Kitchen

She Wants Equality, The Church Wants Her Back in the Kitchen

kate kelly

All this woman is asking for is equality within the community she loves. 

 

This is where I live.

This is where I’m raising my daughters. 

ordainwomen.org

Update: “Today, Kelly’s former ecclesiastical leader in Virginia, Bishop Mark Harrison, contacted Kelly by email to inform her that the all-male panel of judges who tried her in absentia on Sunday, June 22nd, has convicted her on the charge of apostasy and has decided to excommunicate her, which is the most serious punishment that can be levied by a Church court.”

 

21 thoughts on “She Wants Equality, The Church Wants Her Back in the Kitchen

    • I am always open to dialogue! It is the tool with which we learn and grow.

      I would like to raise my daughters in a world where women are not called in to court and summarily excommunicated for having an opinion and voicing it. For me that is the greatest issue here, not the Priesthood. She was not excommunicated for what she wanted, she was excommunicated because she wouldn’t shut up when told.

      There are still plenty of male dominated roles and positions in this country, I don’t think the priesthood in this single religion would give women the opportunity to “run everything”, although, would that be a bad thing? I do think it would give them more say in what roles and responsibilities they take in the church as apposed to being told what to do. It would definitely give them power over their own lives.

      Families equally have a great many burdens and should equally share in any community responsibilities. Why should a man’s time be in more demand than a women’s? It is possible that men might not like shouldering the burden all the time.

      Being that your blog is blocked, I have no way of learning anything about you other than you are male, possibly a Bishop?

  1. I’m not a member of LDS, nor do I approve of their doctrine. But I do understand what they are doing. When there is a structure of authority, by nature there are those who are the decision-makers/leaders and those who are not. Not everyone can be the leader or there would be no workers. The Army cannot consist of all Generals or all Soldiers – you need both, in the proper numbers for an army to work. It’s not about equality, it is about function. If for the past year (likely longer, it’s only been public for a year) she has been voicing her opinion, talking to other people, seeking guidance and help from those above her in authority within the religion she has chosen to participate – then she has been allowed her voice. Her voice does not agree with the doctrine of the church. She refuses to submit to the authority of that group – therefore the group has the right to remove her from the group for not adhering to their “rules”. If you break the rules in a soccer game, you get thrown out of the game, if you repeatedly break the rules you get thrown out of the league, if you break the rules to a criminal level, you get banned from soccer. Same applies to football, baseball, the court system, most jobs – etc. There is no reason to not expect such things within religious bodies. It’s not as though they didn’t give her an opportunity to avoid being excommunicated. She chose to be excommunicated because she chose to continue holding to a concept that goes against the rules. She could have chosen to let it go. She chose her will over the will of the “priesthood”. Again – I do NOT put forth that the LDS is correct in their stand – just that if authority exists, there must be the right to wield it, or else it is not authority.

    • I absolutely agree with you. She chose to be a member of this group and she chose to not follow the rules. All of this was her choice, I do not see her as a victim. I did not for one second think she wouldn’t get excommunicated for her choices, I can’t imagine she didn’t know it as well.

      But just because rules exist doesn’t make them right.

      Here are the rules she broke:

      Asking her religious leaders to pray about the role of women in the Priesthood.

      Asking to be treated equally.

      Not shutting up when told.

      This organization asks for blind following. Not only did this woman question the rules the mere fact she was a woman asking the question was an affront. She was disciplined because she was a women who stepped outside her place and used her voice to respectfully ask for equality.

      Even the handling of her excommunication was biased. Men are allowed to go much further up the chain of command before this sentence can be carried out. A women answers only to her immediate leadership.

      Yes, they have rules, yes she broke them, and yes she received the punishment associated with them. Up until 1978 a black man couldn’t hold Priesthood, but when the BYU basketball team threatened to not play, that rule was changed. Polygamy was once a rule. After we threatened to take their land if they didn’t stop, that rule was changed.

      To sum up, if you think it’s ok to tell women they are not equal to men and not to ask questions, then we disagree and that’s ok. Many women believe God wants us to be subservient to men. I understand how a woman would want to choose that role. For me and mine I think it’s wrong and I do not want to raise my daughters in a community of men who think this is ok and I believe that every human has the right to ask questions. Actually. I think every human should question EVERYTHING. This is one of the reasons I homeschool.

      Bottom line, questioning authority is why America exists.

      Thank you so much for taking a moment to voice your opinion. We do not have to agree, but if we refuse to share and listen then we have lost part of what makes humanity so great, our ability to learn, grow and change. If I was the LDS church, you would not have been allowed to do this.

      • Those are not our rules to be broken. Did you read the Bishop’s letter? Those are the rules she broke and ignoring leadership continued to break them. Read the letter.

  2. Curious, In the letter sent to her, her Bishop explained exactly why she was excommunicated. None of this appeared. Kelly used her own people to get what she really wanted. She demanded the impossible, something Christ did not permit, because she didn’t have the backbone to simply get out honestly. This was all about Kelly, not women and the Priesthood. Sometimes its so much easier to play the martyr than to do the heavy lifting. to get things done. What the hey, she couldn’t even show up to defend herself. What the hey, she let Ex-Mormons in the group. What the hey, hold white handkerchief over your head in protest. What the hey, trying to barge into the Priesthood session when told to keep their protest off private property, What the hey do you think she expected? Now for all the noise she created, what has she done except be forgettable?

    • “dissociate yourself from Ordain Women” Do not discuss women in the Priesthood.

      “you proceeded with your protest despite the request of Church leaders that you not do so” Do not ask for equality.

      “You reached out to others to persuade them to join your movement” Shutup.

      Obviously this is my translation, but I don’t see how it could be understood any other way. They told her to stop talking about it and she didn’t. She started a website, held a VIGIL and reached out to other women instead.

      I don’t see her as a martyr or a victim at all. In all her podcasts, speeches and comments she has come across as a women with great faith and a true respect and love for her community. I’ve heard this comment many times here locally. That this was all about Kelly and not women. I just don’t know what she had to gain from putting herself out there to be ridiculed and excommunicated by the community she loves.

      I saw footage of the “protest”, there were no signs and no chanting. Someone from the Church Public Affairs Department spent hours talking with the women present. If you’ve ever been anywhere near Temple Square you’ll have seen the big burly guards who have no issue dragging off homeless people. I can’t imagine they would have stood by and done nothing for hours while women “barged” and “protested” after being told not to.

      I just have to comment on 2 things that leapt off my computer screen. One, is the anger. Although I have a strong opinion on this, I am not angry at any one person for their opposing opinions. Dialogue either changes a person’s view point or solidifies the existing one. It’s not about rants or insults.

      Second, if she is so forgettable, why the emotion? Why even talk about it with someone who does not share your opinion?

  3. Having the priesthood has nothing to do with whether you are in the kitchen or out curing cancer. This church discipline isn’t about wanting more, or asking for anything, it’s about leading others into apostasy and smearing the church’s name in the the media. Do you not think the church leaders have prayed about it, or put more thought and effort into the needs and wants of the women of the church than even this woman has? I guarantee they have. But this isn’t their church. It is God’s. They can not change anything unless God gives them the go-ahead first.
    See Hebrews 5:4 – “And no man taketh this honor unto himself, but he that is called of God, as was Aaron.”

    Do you think they are wrong? Do you think they are no longer God’s prophets and apostles. That is call apostasy–severing the tie between you and who the Lord has called to lead his church.

    I am not saying woman will never, or should never be ordained. I am only saying you can not bully the Lord. You can ask all the questions you want, you can even ask the brethren–they do read their mail, but if you really want something to change in this church, start pestering the Lord about it.

    The other option is to try to understand why the Lord has it organized the way it is. Elder Oaks talk from priesthood session is a great place to start.

    • I find it incredibly interesting and ironic that both you and robinobishop have shared with me much of the same rhetoric I am hearing and reading locally. I in all honestly would like to know if this is what is being shared with all of you during your meetings. I’m not saying you are being told what to say or think. I’m just saying, some of it is oddly word for word.

      Since your comment was emotional, but respectful I would love to pick your brain. I honestly don’t see how what Kate Kelly did smeared the image of the church or turned people to apostasy. First of all, I knew women were not considered equal to the task of Priesthood before Kate Kelly. This is one of the main reasons I did not get baptized. This is not new information, she did not share anything that wasn’t already known. Also apostasy is not about severing ties with religious leaders, it’s severing ties with your religious beliefs. She was very clear that did not and would never happen, no matter the outcome. She was not abandoning her faith. Those in the LDS community have a very different definition of apostasy than the rest of the dictionary reading world. Why is that?

      I am not equipped to argue doctrine as I was not raised learning the scriptures, but when I moved here and discovered the incongruities in the roles of the Goddess and women, I have poured over everything again and again and I can not find anywhere in the Mormon doctrine that says women can’t hold the Priesthood. Where is this found?

      I do believe there was a great deal of “pestering the Lord” on both sides. I also believe the Lord answered Kate Kelly and called her. The Lord uses us in ways that may seem shocking to the rest of the world. Many of our beloved Prophets created great change while seemingly offering themselves up to humiliation and scorn. I think for the two of us it boils down to whether you believe Kate Kelly is a charlatan or a leader. For that answer we must first educate ourselves on the person in question. Have you listened to her speak, read any of her website? Secondly we must pray and look to our hearts. I have done both and the answer was given. She was called.

      • I’m glad you didn’t find my comment offensive, I always worry about that.
        Let me start answering your questions with something Jesus said, as that might help you understand where I am coming from. Bear with me 

        Luke 22: 24-27 And there was also a strife among them (his apostles), which of them should be accounted the greatest. And he said unto them, The kings of the Gentiles exercise lordship over them; and they that exercise authority upon them are called benefactors.
        [This is the world’s meaning of leadership—power, control. But this isn’t what leadership in the church is. This is what Christ says:]
        “But ye shall not be so: but he that is greatest among you, let him be as the younger; and he that is chief, as he that doth serve.”

        Leadership in the church is about serving, not ruling over. There is no “over” in the equation. Only under and beside. (Here I want to remind you that people, especially men 😉 are not perfect. One of the functions of the church is to help people with that. But do not doubt, that if anyone is getting excommunicated fast, it will be the “leader” who messes up. There is much less toleration for them.)

        The next thing I’ll mention, is that generally the people who are given leadership positions in the church, don’t ask for them. They feel inadequate and humbled. That is who the Lord wants to work with. We don’t pursue callings in the church, they are given to us. And that is the same for men and for women. My husband didn’t chose to be an Elders quorum Pres. any more than I asked to be a Relief Society Pres.
        When I was on a mission, I was set apart and given the same authority as the Elders to preach the Gospel.

        When I go to the temple there is no ordinance or covenant, or blessing that my husband gets and I don’t. They are the same. He cannot progress any further than I can, with or without me.

        So, with service in mind, why aren’t woman given the priesthood? It has NOTHING to do with us not being up to the task, but more because we don’t need it. We already have so much to do, and I’m not even mentioning motherhood. Also, God loves his little boys too, and they need something to help them become the compassionate, hardworking, faithful people He wants them to become.

        Look is happening to the men of the world. I spent some time in Russia. Once the woman took over the work place, men figured they were done and stayed home with the bottle. In America woman are quickly becoming more educated, and more power to them! But again, God loves his little boys, just as he loves his little girls. He wants more for them than video games. I want my son grow up with duties, and responsibilities that with shape him into a compassionate, hardworking, faithful man, who will be a good husband and father. The duties of priesthood will help him. It’s working well for my husband.

        I believe woman tend to be more spiritually minded, and if baptism rates in my mission were any indicator, it does seem to ring true. I think men generally need more help in this area. The duties of the priesthood help.
        (One last thing to keep in mind, is the priesthood cannot be used to self-serve—only for the belief of others.)

        In brief, I have never felt there to be an inequality in the church. I see leaders as servants who sometimes make mistakes and are called to put an incredible amount of time and heart into something they didn’t ask to do.

        Now, as to why we see apostasy different from the world. It’s quite simple. If you believe that there is a living prophet, seer, and revelator, and if the very foundation of the church rested on him truly being a literal mouth-piece of the Lord—then deciding that it’s not really so, rips that foundation out from under you and all you are left with is some nice doctrines that you get to pick and choose from as you see fit.
        This church is no different from any other Christian religion if you take away divine authority by direct revelation. That is how important our belief is that God has called Thomas Monson (at this time) to direct His church. It means we believe God is directing this church.

        As to woman holding the priesthood. Just because we are not ordained, does not mean we are not given authority.
        Dallin Oaks in the last conference of the church said this: “While the sisters have not been given the Priesthood, it has not been conferred upon them, that does not mean that the Lord has not given unto them authority. … A person may have authority given to him, or a sister to her, to do certain things in the Church that are binding and absolutely necessary for our salvation, such as the work that our sisters do in the House of the Lord. They have authority given unto them to do some great and wonderful things, sacred unto the Lord, and binding just as thoroughly as are the blessings that are given by the men who hold the Priesthood.”

        Here’s the link, I highly encourage you to read it with an eye to understanding our doctrine: https://www.lds.org/general-conference/print/2014/04/the-keys-and-authority-of-the-priesthood?lang=eng

        I know this might not be what you were looking for, but I hope it helps answer some of your questions. Also, I’m sorry this got so long! I understand if you don’t want to ask me anything more 🙂 (I should have mentioned first that I’m a novelist ;))

      • Just so you know a little about me, I was always a bit of a tom-boy and was all about giving my brothers a run for their money 🙂 I’ve trained horses, instructed martial arts, and written novels. I am very politically active, and believe strongly in equality.

    • Don’t ever apologize on this blog for a lengthy comment. I relish in them. Deep thoughts can not be limited to short pithy responses.

      You actually brought up some new thoughts on genders and there roles in the church. To say a man or a woman is more suited to anything is never going to be a true statement. Although truth can be found in the generalization, it can not be found in the individual. The gifts of a single human are not going to be the gifts of the next human, no matter the gender.

      I actually found Elder Oaks talk through ordainwomen.org. It was endearing and sweet, but left me wanting. I felt like he was trying to say something more. It read to me, as if he was censoring himself, while trying to reach the hearts of the church. Did you get that too? I think it was really his comments on women being Preisthood holders without the title, that really got to me. If this is truly the case, then the title is nothing more than a facade. Why hold on to it?

      This is where the subject gets very delicate. To question, is to question God. This is another point on which the church and I would not have jived. I question, constantly. I never question God’s love, I never question my faith, but I still question, my prayers are always questions. I question each and every spiritual text that God has protected through the ages. Who wrote it, what was the time in which is was written, why were only these gospels included, did the author have an agenda? I live to question, to know more, to understand better. I have been a part of your community long enough to know that questioning the President is to question the word of God. But he is human, he is fallible as we all are. It simply does not sit in me to trust the word of another human without questions and prayer. I said to my husband as he read your response, “I hoped no one would say, ‘to question the church is to question God’, because I can’t argue that point.” I do not know what it is like to have such complete faith in another imperfect human to the point, that no matter what is spoken, I would obey. So here I don’t even think we can agree to disagree, it’s more like gawk in complete bewilderment at each other for what to me is a gaping difference.

      I did know that callings are just that. Not offered or sought after. I’m curious, what would happen if a leader felt called to give a woman the Priesthood. What do you think the response would be?

      Lastly you blew me away with the Russian alcoholics story and the ensuing paragraphs. With this as your argument, I think you may be on the wrong side. All I read was men are weak. They need to be placed in positions of authority with spiritual guidance, otherwise they will fall. I know some staunch feminists who would champion that thought line. I am not one of them, but then I don’t consider myself a feminist.

      Thank you so much for taking the time to thoughtfully respond. If you read my last response to robinobishop, you’ll know this is close to my heart. Where I should have had a community of like minded families, I live in a community that feels removed. I wish almost daily this was not the situation. Especially when I look at my girls. My heart still aches when I hear the Mormon Tabernacle Choir sing. A group I have admired my whole life, a group I intended to be a part of, and yet it’s beauty is stained for me. When I see families gathering up to head to a place of fellowship, I know exactly what my children are missing. In some ways I am grateful I did not find myself in the situation Kate Kelly did, as I most assuredly would have. I can not follow blindly, I can not tell my children their womb is their only real asset. I can not tell my girls, the afterlife is reserved for those that participate in creation. What if my daughter wants to cure cancer and not have children? Is she then not to have an after life?

      Thank you for your thoughts and I am extremely grateful I got to know this side of you. If I can be frank, I have 2 responses when I find out someone is LDS. It’s either a relief at knowing I speaking with a true Christ follower with a gentle heart or disgust at the calm hypocrisy that eventually becomes apparent. I can be wishy washy with other religions, but Mormons are so different to me. You are most definitely of the the gentle heart variety.

      • “You are most definitely of the the gentle heart variety.” Thank you for that 🙂

        “I can not tell my children their womb is their only real asset. I can not tell my girls, the afterlife is reserved for those that participate in creation. What if my daughter wants to cure cancer and not have children? Is she then not to have an after life?”

        Please, if you come away from this conversation with on thing, let it be this: The womb is not woman’s only real asset in the church. While we put a lot of focus on bringing children into the world and raising them the best we can, to God that it is not by any means a requirement. So what is a woman never gets married, or get married and doesn’t have children? There are some amazing, powerful woman who have been out curing cancer instead because that is what they feel is their mission.

        If motherhood was imperative for a woman’s salvation, why would the Lord keep calling single, childless woman into the General Relief Society Presidency? See Sheri L. Dew, and Barbara Thompson.

        You are in Utah, I take it? The problem there is the “culture” of the church, is often confused with the “doctrine” of the church. Thankfully, I’m in Canada 🙂

        I will say one last thing 😉 hopefully: I do believe there are differences in the genders, and that gender is an eternal principle (I have always been female.) I really don’t believe men to be weaker than woman, but I do feel we have different strengths and weaknesses (which is why marriage can be such a good thing :)). I know this is something the world in general is strongly arguing against, but we are aloud to agree to disagree.

        Sorry, one last comment. I do believe you can question and pray all you want what the leaders say. We believe in personal revelation. But part of that question should be if the prophet of God is truly a prophet of God. If the answer is yes, than that comes with the promise that he will never lead the church off course. Yes, he is a man, but the Lord is in pretty tight control of him.

        As for local leaders, we try to support them, they are called of God, but they are still in the learning posses.

        The problem with Kate Kelly’s asking (as far as I understand) was that she wasn’t just asking. Asking isn’t the problem. It’s how you ask. Pulling the media into her fight for “equality” is called bullying. Do that with the government fort he woman’s rights to vote and I’m fully supportive. But you can’t bully the Lord. He does not change things just because people think he should. If he did, his church would be truly controlled by people and not Himself. If anything changes, it will be in his timing, not ours.

        OK, I’ll be quiet now 😉

    • I think what you hit on in regards to culture vs doctrine is incredibly significant. My experiences outside Utah would never have lead to me to believe what I have seen here.

      The first time I met a Mormon was when 2 young men on mission knocked on our door when I was a child. They were welcomed back time and time again. If my Father hadn’t been so against organized religion as a whole, I have no doubt we would have been raised in the church. My Mother told my brother and I, “when they knock, invite them in and offer food until they take it, they are doing God’s work”. In college I lived across from an apartment rented by the church for young men on mission. We went through many of them and they all spent probably 3 nights a week at my apartment eating, socializing, but more importantly teaching. It was in that time that I really began to understand how in line with my beliefs the church really was. I found Mormons as coworkers to be incredible, and when I had say in the hiring process an Mormon would win out every single time. My best friend of 13 years is Mormon. When I first discovered I was pregnant we were living in Manhattan and I knew we needed to move. Utah was one of our transfer options and for me, the only option. I had a plan, I felt I was being led to a place where the humans I had grown to love and admire were in the majority. A place to raise my girls in a community of safety and love.

      When I say a women’s only real asset is her womb, I’m only telling you what I’ve learned here.

      With my second pregnancy I had a rough time and ended up in the ER for dehydration. My Doctor was female and Mormon. When I in shocked asked her “is it difficult to have a career in the church”, her response was “very”. I was so interested I continued the conversation every time she came by. I learned she fought with her family to go to medical school and was called in by her bishop constantly to discuss her willful disobedience and even though she was married with children, she was told she was still going against God’s wishes for her They even went so far as to accuse of being an apostate by leading her daughters astray because of her actions. Her being a doctor was leading her daughters away from the will of God.

      This is just one of my experiences here. Can you see why I would not want my daughters to be involved in such an organization or why I feel so strongly about Kate Kelly?

      Here is an excerpt of an interview with President Hinkley.

      RB: Is it possible that the rules could change in the future as the rules are on Blacks ?

      GBH: He could change them yes. If He were to change them that’s the only way it would happen.

      RB: So you’d have to get a revelation?

      GBH: Yes. But there’s no agitation for that. We don’t find it. Our women are happy. They’re satisfied. These bright, able, wonderful women who administer their own organisation are very happy. Ask them. Ask my wife.

      http://www.abc.net.au/compass/intervs/hinckley.htm

      I find it odd that everyone believes without doubt that the leadership of the church is being led by God, but no one even considers that Kate Kelly is being led. Not even her followers are willing to say such a thing. Is it just so inconceivable that a women could have been called, that she may be the instrument of God to create change, the agitation?

  4. “I just don’t know what she had to gain from putting herself out there to be ridiculed and excommunicated by the community she loves.”

    Then you haven’t been looking. The is a young attorney looking for notoriety. Being a liberal social justice attorney in a Mormon world wasn’t working for her. She had to do something to shake things up. And she needed to extract Herself from always being seen as a liberal Mormon attorney-it wasn’t getting her anywhere. Whether it was subconscious or conscious, she had to develop a stance so appalling as to set up church leadership that she would be excommunicated and be seen as a martyr/victim. In her professional world that gives her a badge of honor. although she gave the impression that leaving the church was going to be great trauma, she has been an apostate beyond the façade of church attendance.

    If she loves the LDS so very much, then why for all to see that she not show up? Why did she permit ex-Mormons into her association?

    • I’ve read this one as well. Here’s the roadblock I hit when I try to think this through, she is now an excommunicated Mormon living in PROVO, Utah. She is now socially a leper, as is her whole family. If she gained the entire non Mormon client base to add to her portfolio, she still lost the majority of the Mormon community. Is it possible during this time she considered what this would do for her career, of course. To say this was only about her career just feels like more rhetoric. But I have to be honest, I don’t know all there is to know about her professional world. Does being an excommunicated Mormon give her respect among her peers? Are there articles with positive quotes from her colleagues? Does the admiration of her colleagues help her gain clients? Does she belong to a firm that is predominantly non Mormon, thereby giving her access to partnerships and higher paying clients? I don’t know, but I am going to look into it. You’ve definitely given me something think about.

      I don’t know why everyone keeps saying she is a victim and a martyr. She absolutely does not show up that way to me.

      Why did she permit ex-Mormon’s into her association? I don’t know, but if I had to venture a guess I would say perhaps these people left because they felt belittled by the patriarchal society they belonged. If I was in her shoes, I would reach out to those who left and offer them a way back in. Perhaps with change and opportunity they would no longer be ex. I would be interested to know why that is a point against her though. Are you forbidden to associate with ex-Mormons? That is an honest question.

      “If she loves the LDS so very much, then why for all to see that she not show up?”

      I’m not sure what you mean, are you talking about her not facing the Disciplinary Council? In your world that may mean more, in mine, it’s a women with a family that didn’t want to drop everything, fly to Virginia when the end result would be the same no matter her presence. She knew she was going to be excommunicated. Everyone knew that. The hearing was only a formality.

      I hope you know I do appreciate you commenting. I knew when I shared this post I would receive backlash, if you will. I can keenly feel your anger at this woman and the perceived insult against something you hold dear. I too find extreme beauty in the words of the prophet. I moved to Utah with the expressed intent of being baptized with dreams of the life I would be giving my children.This issue as well as others is the reason I chose not to be baptized. For me this is also an insult to something I hold dear. I remember when my Mother came to visit and I was ranting about something I experienced with the church and she interrupted me to say, “my girl, you are not angry, you are broken hearted”. She was so right. Kate Kelly brought a voice to my heartache. She was an answer to my prayer. I truly believe she was called to shine a light on the strength of LDS women and she has done just that. If the church’s response had been different, I know where I would be sitting next Sunday. Consider that.

  5. “She is now socially a leper, as is her whole family.”

    Oddly you claim she is neither a victim nor a martyr. Now you claim she is socially a leper, as is her whole family. I know you are doing youor best struggling through this. I respect that. Your premise here does not follow. You and I may have different view of how Mormons act in terms of compassion. Her family will lose friends as they choose to lose them, no different than you or I.

    Her followers see her as a hero, misplaced as it might be, among a large majority of her present and future clientele by engineering an excommunication by an all male group of judges in absentee. She made sure she gave leadership no other choice as her Bishop’s letter reads. She got the kind of publicity she badly needed for her career. She had no professional following in women’s social justice among the bedrock of the LDS Church regardless if she honored her church leaders or insults them through her actions. Her chosen field of feminist social justice can only bring her into conflict with her roots. That happened A Long Time Ago as she planned it. If she had been such a staunch Mormon why would she have specialized in such a feminist agenda? That’s a big reason why she, through her organization, made such a concerted effort to lecture and demean the LDS leadership.

    The great majority of LDS women the priesthood but the majority of women in Utah will have nothing to do with honoring the priesthood; 95% of the women in America know nothing about a priesthood of God. Her business will explode as a result of this excommunication. Whether she realizes it or not, she did it for the money and the notoriety.

    As for her family little has changed for them, except they need to deal with the reality of an embarrassing child/adult. Oh dear, they have a wayward child. That is something of the norm of LDS families.

    • Now I am going to have to say you are explicitly wrong. What society thinks of you and how they treat you have no bearing on who you are. I chose not to be baptized, in my community I am a social leper. At no point in my entire time here have I felt a victim. I do worry that my children are getting old enough to see their exclusion, but I do not intend to tell them that what their neighbors think about them is in any way correlated to who they actually are. So yes, it does follow.

      I spent probably too much time researching Mrs. Kelly’s professional life. I know she is an International Human Rights attorney and I have seen a few cases with her name on them. That seems to be the extent of the information online. Either there has been a concerted effort to scrub the internet or she simply is a human rights attorney with very little to talk about up until now. And what I do find is not at all positive. Even in the liberal media the comments are not favorable. Either she is ludicrous for associating herself with a church that restricts female leadership, or she is an apostate with an agenda. I’ve found few and I mean extremely few that see her as a hero, myself included.

      I did find a great deal about her life up until she graduated BYU and she certainly was a staunch Mormon up until that point. After which I can find very little, nothing about where she went to Law School, what firm she was/ is with, etc..

      You seem to hang your entire opinion of the motives behind this woman on the positive effect this is having on her career. Those questions I asked were serious question, not rhetorical. I am actively looking for information about her professional life. Please share your information, links etc. I would like to know if I have been misled, but I can’t just take someone’s word for it and I am not able to find the sources of information you obviously have. In all seriousness, please take a moment and send me some links, tell me where to look.

  6. “I can not follow blindly, I can not tell my children their womb is their only real asset. I can not tell my girls, the afterlife is reserved for those that participate in creation. What if my daughter wants to cure cancer and not have children? Is she then not to have an after life?”

    If that is the case, perhaps you should investigate what it is like to be an endowed and Strong sister in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.

    For many years prior to knowing of the Mormons, while listening to the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, I first initially never thought of them as a part of a church. Then after a time I realized the reason why their singing gave me the feeling that it did was exactly because of what they obtained from their church.

  7. Diedre, I do not know about the controversy, except what you wrote about it. But I have to stress that I admire your balanced, mature and gently persuasive arguments. You really have the knack of a dialogue.

    • That may be one of the best compliments I’ve ever received. Striking a balance between passion in what I believe to be true and taking in what others “believe to be true” is not easily found in a gentle dialogue. Thank you!

Share Your Thoughts...

