Home » Decorating » Neutral? Children’s Room Done

Neutral? Children’s Room Done

“Neutral” Children’s Room

collage

I did my best to stay neutral, but in the end, it’s a girl’s room. I truly despise categorizing genders.  Unfortunately I am in the minority and I have to think like the majority in this process.

I decided on an owl theme based on researched trends because I had a set of full size owl sheets and no full size bed. They got ripped up along with a matching shower curtain to be repurposed. I bought some matching wall decals to make a lampshade and wall art, repainted a lamp and nightstand, even tried my hand at a throw pillow owl. It didn’t come out as expected, but still cute.

Before and After Owl Kids Room 2

Before and After Owl Kids Room

Four rooms down, two thirds to go. 

14 thoughts on “Neutral? Children’s Room Done

  1. Wow!! This is ridiculously cute. Yes, I just spent about 5 minutes(?) looking at all the details. I think you are doing such a great job!! And “on a shoestring”!! Just wow..

    I love how everything just goes together SO well… You have such an eye for detail.

    • You are most definitely my biggest fan! Thank you for the kind words. The only thing negative about such a cute room, it didn’t stay that way for long.

    • Thank you! It did turn out better than expected and doesn’t look as homespun as I was afraid it would given that it’s mostly composed of bed sheets and a shower curtain.

  2. Beautiful room with just enough pink! What a nice gift to give your daughter. (Although it occurs to me that my colorblind boys would see this room as completely monochromatic.)

    • I hadn’t thought of that! I was doing my best to avoid the typical princess crowns and flowers in the hopes a young child of any gender would like it, as I’m planning on listing my house soon. Thanks for the additional perspective, I have to tell you I love your blog. Colorblindness is one of those things most people do not think of and deserves more awareness than it gets.

      • Thank you so much. Colorblindness awareness is my passion and I’m happy to have finally discovered the blogosphere to help spread the word.

    • Thank you and yes, they both love it and prefer it over their shared room upstairs. It is hard staging a home for sale with kiddos, but it’s nice when it brings a smile to my girls.

  3. What a dramatic transformation! Isn’t it funny how much time we spend making our home so cute and clean when we want to sell! This is my third house. Always happens. Projects get finished. Rooms get decorated. All that jazz.

    • This is my first home, so it truly does make me feel a little silly. But at least I can tell myself, “worst case scenario, we get to live in a clean, pretty and organized home for another year.”

Share Your Thoughts...

