Home » Homeschooling » The Courage To Homeschool

The Courage To Homeschool

homeschool9

A few days ago I typed up a few of my mind ramblings about homeschooling. To my surprise and delight homeschoolers  from around the world found me and offered up a look into their lives. I felt honored, but mostly inspired.

As I watched my WordPress map brighten with color from Taiwan to South Africa, only a very few were from my own country. With almost 2 million homeschoolers in the US, I had to wonder why my fellow countrymen offered so little and why I gained so much from around the world. I’m just curious, in the end it really doesn’t matter. They all have helped to answer a question I didn’t even know to ask.

Thanks to these fellow humans who’ve shared I’ve learned the story of…

A Father who moved to Taiwan to immerse his son in the culture.

A Mother who said yes when her perfect and intelligent son asked to be homeschooled.

A Mother who removed her child from school after she began being exposed to things much to young for her precious 8 years.

A Mother who fights a national health care system to ensure her child’s needs are heard.

Parents who took their children to Africa to experience what true need looks like.

A Mother who carefully integrates core studies in Art for a child who’s mind is constantly creating. 

All of these people have a great deal in common, but the main thing I felt from each and everyone, was courage. So instead of asking why a parent homeschools, I should have been asking,

How much courage does it take to homeschool?

Because in the end it only takes a small amount of research and study to come to the conclusion homeschool is almost always the best. So what stops a parent from choosing homeschool?

Courage.

The courage to sacrifice a large part of our day that could have been spent on any number other self fulfilling activities. Not that educating a child isn’t one of those, but there will certainly be a great many thrown by the wayside.

The courage to stand against the tide. Ignorance is rampant in the US and a homeschooled child is handed judgment and the parents even more so.

The courage to face any government involvement. Pennsylvania for example requires a full year of  lessons plans be submitted for approval and access to your home for inspections.

The courage to educate ourselves so that we will be the best guide for our children.

The courage to say “I Can”. To believe ourselves capable of introducing the minds of our very own children to the world. That is something I have questioned about myself since I first felt the stirrings of life in my body.

It is easy to empathize with a parent who chooses not to homeschool. Homeschool comes with a hefty cost and not all children and parents are best suited for such an education. When I started my journey into homeschool I did it with resistance. Not to the idea, because I know it’s probably best. But with fear, a fear I was not good enough. Someone else would be better suited to teach my children, someone with more degrees, more education experience, more materials.

Who is better suited to lead our children through life and help them learn from all their experiences, if not their parents?

Thank you fellow homeschoolers for helping me to see that I could spend countless hours in books and websites, but in the end “the courage to homeschool” was the only question I really needed to answer.

13 thoughts on “The Courage To Homeschool

  1. I live in PA, and while it is over-regulated, you do not need to submit an entire year’s worth of lesson plans, but only objectives which can be very general. I also have never seen anything about home inspections in the PA homeschool laws, and I’ve been homeschooling here for five years. I dream everyday of moving to a freer state to homeschool in, but it’s not as bad as people think.

    • Really?! We have been looking to move back to the Northeast, either New Jersey or Pennsylvania and for just those reasons have been leaning towards New Jersey.
      But, according to the Pennsylvania Department of Education that is exactly what is required.
      http://www.education.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/overview_of_homeschooling/20312

      Perhaps this is another example of the written educational laws not being the actual practice. Although the few PA homeschool blogs I’ve come across do annually submit a lesson plan as well as have an evaluator come to their home. Maybe it’s a case of “better safe than sorry”?

      I’m heading over to your blog now. Thank you so much for stopping by.Really, I had all but ruled out PA as an option, perhaps it is not as regulated as the laws state.

  2. I am at the moment – on the edge of taking that leap into homeschooling, but every time I feel like I may finally have the courage, that fear of completely failing takes over. Any additional advice for me?? Thanks.

    • Yes, start a blog, write about it, find other homeschoolers with blogs. My little ones are young so I was absolutely terrified not just of failing, but actual damage. That somehow I would ruin them for learning. But once I started talking about homeschooling on my blog, I developed a following of helpful veteran homeshoolers and that honestly has helped. I know when to guide my kids and when to let them lead. When to toss the “curriculum” and head for a nature preserve. I started because my oldest asked to learn to read and do math and I felt that even though she is young, if she’s asking, she’s ready. My original intent was to find a school for her, but after researching I realized school is not for my family. Between the “society” that school offers and the curriculum, I was sorely disappointed. Best advise is start a blog and reach out. Don’t be afraid to title your first blog post, “I need help” and then go to each and every homeschooling blog and ask again. It may seem a little daunting, but homeschoolers online are incredibly supportive, plus they offer ideas, curriculum, schedules, methodology and they want to share. Just check out my post, “Fellow parents I need your help”. I have a tiny little blog with barely any traffic and that one post has more comments than anything I have ever written. People want to help, Homeschool bloggers know the fear and want to help even more.

    • Just wanted to say if you do start a blog, I will reblog your first post here, so at least you will get some of my followers to start with. They are few in number, but they are beyond kind and extremely helpful.

  3. For me, the hardest part is to decide if you are going jump into homeschooling and commit yourself to be a big part of your child’s education. But once you see the advantages and benefits homeschooling brings, it’ll be all worth the time and effort.

    Anne
    http://HomeschoolingOption.com/

    • Yes you are! It is so heartening to know that parents around the world are willing to face so much to make sure the next generation are ready to face the world in a manner befitting the great species we are, as apposed to excellent laborers and followers. That was a mouth full, I hope you get my meaning.

      Thanks for stopping by, I was recently on your blog as well, I’m looking forward to really spending some time there.

Share Your Thoughts...

